RPG game
 
HomePortalRegisterLog in

Ok, Its been confirmed. This site is causing threats to show up on my

 AVG maleware detecter. We will be switching sites as of now. I'll not

 check this site again, and be taking the steps to delete it altogether

 as the day goes on. Everyone please go to

 This site

Register as a user and Join the new nations game, just copy/paste

 your character sheets from this site and send them to me in the

 other game. As for the Spiders Web Campaign; Wybren hasn't been

 on for days, intrest has seemed to be lost there, I'll not be

 continueing that game any longer.

 

Hopefully everone follows the game to the new site....


Share | 
 

 Posting Rules-Combat

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : Previous  1, 2
AuthorMessage
Thimble Fiddlewinks
Town Guard
Town Guard
avatar

Posts : 38
Join date : 2009-07-23
Age : 34
Location : Baltimore, MD

Character sheet
Name:
HP:
AC::

PostSubject: Re: Posting Rules-Combat   Thu Aug 13, 2009 1:55 pm

Actually I'm pretty sure a coup de grace is a full round action and thus can only be done with one weapon.
Back to top Go down
DM
Admin
avatar

Posts : 133
Join date : 2009-07-25
Age : 28
Location : Forest park, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Posting Rules-Combat   Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:28 am

Thimble is right::

Coup de Grace
As a full-round action, you can use a melee weapon to deliver a coup de grace to a helpless opponent. You can also use a bow or crossbow, provided you are adjacent to the target.

You automatically hit and score a critical hit. If the defender survives the damage, he must make a Fortitude save (DC 10 + damage dealt) or die. A rogue also gets her extra sneak attack damage against a helpless opponent when delivering a coup de grace.

Delivering a coup de grace provokes attacks of opportunity from threatening opponents.

You can’t deliver a coup de grace against a creature that is immune to critical hits. You can deliver a coup de grace against a creature with total concealment, but doing this requires two consecutive full-round actions (one to "find" the creature once you’ve determined what square it’s in, and one to deliver the coup de grace).
Back to top Go down
Wybren
Veteran Champion
Veteran Champion
avatar

Posts : 128
Join date : 2009-07-19
Age : 35
Location : THe Netherlands

Character sheet
Name: Yorin / Radour
HP: 11 (R) / 23 (Y)
AC:: 17 (R) / 19 (Y)

PostSubject: Finbert's color spray   Tue Aug 25, 2009 1:27 am

Hi all,

I read in the post that the priestess and the drider are paralysed?
How can that be? One is blinded, stunned or knocked unconscious by a color spray, not paralysed.
Moreover, the priestess must be at least 3d level (her spell is a 2nd level).
Isn't she just stunned? In that case you can't take a coup de grace at her.

Wybren/Yorin
Back to top Go down
DM
Admin
avatar

Posts : 133
Join date : 2009-07-25
Age : 28
Location : Forest park, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Posting Rules-Combat   Tue Aug 25, 2009 1:34 am

Ya, I just posted that, its my fault for a bad choice of words... Didn't honestly know "Paralyzed" was its own condition... SOrry for the miswording guys.

The two are STUNNED.
Back to top Go down
Wybren
Veteran Champion
Veteran Champion
avatar

Posts : 128
Join date : 2009-07-19
Age : 35
Location : THe Netherlands

Character sheet
Name: Yorin / Radour
HP: 11 (R) / 23 (Y)
AC:: 17 (R) / 19 (Y)

PostSubject: Question Spiritual weapon   Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:02 pm

Hi, I have two questions about the Spiritual Weapon spell:

1. Can it be used to attack objects? The spell description says: 'opponents'.
2. Can it make attacks of opportunity on the opponent which it is attacking? The spell has some properties which are 'weapon-like' and others which are 'spell-like'. So it's not clear to me if AoO's can be made with the spiritual weapon.

here is the description of the spell:

Spoiler:
 
Back to top Go down
Thimble Fiddlewinks
Town Guard
Town Guard
avatar

Posts : 38
Join date : 2009-07-23
Age : 34
Location : Baltimore, MD

Character sheet
Name:
HP:
AC::

PostSubject: Re: Posting Rules-Combat   Tue Aug 25, 2009 5:19 pm

1. I don't see why not, it should be able to attack objects just fine.
2. Striking "as a spell, not as a weapon" means it does not get AoO's.

The first is my opinion, based on my (possibly flawed) logic. The second is solid, and basically a clarification on the wording. On page 137 of the PH, in the bottom right corner, first sentence after Making an Attack of Opportunity: "An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack." Since this spell strikes as a spell and not as a weapon, it is not a melee attack.
Back to top Go down
DM
Admin
avatar

Posts : 133
Join date : 2009-07-25
Age : 28
Location : Forest park, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Posting Rules-Combat   Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:28 am

Ya, Spiratual weapon doesn't get AoO's because "You Direct it" which means you can't direct it to do something if its not your turn, plus, its not a living being, construct or anything of the sort. Only a spell. Therefore, it can't be flanked, can't be surprised and can't make AoO's.

Although, It can attack objects. Anything that can be an "Opponent"/"Enemy" in Yorins perception. So, a boarded wall blocking her path can be an "Opponent" to Yorin. SO, she can have it targe nearly anything really.
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Posting Rules-Combat   

Back to top Go down
 
Posting Rules-Combat
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 2 of 2Go to page : Previous  1, 2
 Similar topics
-
» Acme 40k Escalation League (Begins January 11th)
» Additional Hand Weapon AND Shield
» Vehicles Exploding in a multi-combat
» Martian Rebellion, with figs and GURPS rules(SAVAGE WORLDS?)
» Rules and Guidelines for hosting a party

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Spiders web :: Spiders Web Campaign :: Out Of Character Forum-
Jump to: